Hawaiian Adventures: Contact Dairy Allergy

Our grand trip to Hawaii.  We had everything planned out.   My friend scrubbed her house top to bottom, sterilized her child’s toys, and washed the highchair.  What am I forgetting?  Oh yes, the pack-n-play. But her daughter hasn’t used it in forever.  It’s safe right?  WRONG!

We get there and get settled but of course after getting up early and traveling across 5 time zones with a screaming toddler, we’re tired.  My friend gets the room set up and we call it a night.  The next morning we wake up before the sun to find hives across Squid’s eye and face.

wpid-20140828_051023-1.jpgwpid-20140828_051125-1.jpg

I blamed his reaction on the fact that we went to Starbucks when we arrived and I accidentally touched his bear in his bag when I was getting out wipes. I promptly stripped his bed and washed everything. I also scrubbed down his bag. Problems solved? I thought so until the following morning.

20140829_063634-1

After he woke up with hives for the 2nd day in a row, I knew it wasn’t a contaminated bear. My friend gathered her spray bottle of vinegar and a container of disinfectant wipes and proceeded to wipe down every square inch of the pack-n-play. As an allergy mom, I should have taken that job upon myself.

The 3rd morning (below) was the absolute worst! Squid was extra fussy that night and I don’t blame him one bit. We had to slather his poor little face in antihistamine cream as well as a dose of benadryl.

20140829_12495720140829_125329

3 days of this and I finally had my culprit nailed down, the fabric sides. I, again for the 3rd day, washed all of his bedding items and then I drug the pack-n-play out into the yard for a wash. I took regular dish soap, a sponge, and the water hose and scrubbed until the fabric oozed with bubbles. Top, bottom, inside, outside, mesh, plastic corners, padded sides, EVERYTHING! After I rinsed it, I scrubbed it again. When it was dry, I soaked it until it was dripping with vinegar. Finally, I wiped it down with disinfectant wipes. I threatened that if he woke up in hives again, I would just burn the thing and be done. Luckily, the wash took care of it!

Allergy life is such a crazy adventure, especially with a contact allergy. Lesson learned.

Posted on September 23, 2014, in Food Allergies, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

